After three years of frustratingly light airs, the weather gods finally played ball for this year’s Mykonos Offshore; a “downwind dash” to the West Coast resort of Club Mykonos, 68 miles from Cape Town’s Table Bay. 85 yachts arrived at the start line with a three start split; all IRC boats were put into one fleet, starting alongside the RCYC club division one fleet. The race started off the Cape Town harbor wall in a light westerly taking the fleet through the wind transition to a a mark off Paarden Island where a moderate south easter greeted them; once round the mark there was a five mile run towards Blouberg where the light westerly again became the prevailing wind. The decision for tacticians was either to take the roundhouse coastal route or take the direct route to the gate off Dassen Island? For the faster sport boats who arrived at the westerly first, it seemed that the direct route to the gate paid the best dividends while the boats arriving later having the better option of sticking to the coast and then turning left once the predicted southerly started blowing.

The first boat to arrive at the gate at Dassen Island was Cape Fling 2 (RP 52), followed by Nitro (Corby 49) and then Vulcan (GP 42); at that stage the wind was blowing a steady 18 – 20 knots from the South, accompanied by a south westerly swell of 2 meters which assisted and suited the sport boats, who enjoyed the surfing conditions.

Cape Fling finished just over six hours after the start with a time of 6 hours 03 minutes and 52 seconds, some 20 minutes behind, Nitro finished with a time of 6 hours 26 minutes and 52 seconds with Vulcan taking up the last line honors podium place with a time of 6 hours 28 minutes and 44 seconds. After all the corrected times had been calculated, Hylton Hale and his team on Vulcan won the overall race from Cape to Club Mykonos, with the recently revamped Mum 36 Bally Hoo Too skippered by JJ Provoyeur taking second and Nitro third.

Mykonos 15 CT to Mykonos

Saturday’s pursuit race day, dawned bright and breezy with a strong south easterly filling the Langebaan lagoon. Boats moored in the Mykonos marina, struggled to get over the sand bar due to the low tide, with some boats taking the decision not to venture out, while others used every trick to lay their boats on their sides to exit the harbour. Unfortunately for the regatta leader Vulcan, she did not make the start time and was subsequently disqualified, due to the fact that they were motoring inside the four minutes to their start.


This gave Nitro the opportunity to take the full honors and subsequently fulfilled this by sailing a flawless pursuit race thus taking the overall IRC title of the 2015 Mykonos Offshore.

Mykonos Offshore 2015